ALL THE PRIDE | diverse recommendations

There is so much discussion about reading diverse all the time, and I too find it super important. I think of it as basically being alert that you read books that include all kinds of different people, basically just what the real world looks like. I have decided to start a new series called Diverse Recommendations (if you have any cool name suggestions it would be very appreciates). I will in each post recommend around 2 books including diversity. Since June means pride month I’ll start this series out with recommending LGBTQ+ books.

fiona-lc3a6ser.jpg

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

Simon is in the closet and in love with a guy on the internet. He has amazing friends, and a great family, but he feels really nervous about telling everyone he’s gay. Besides wanting to come out, this book is about friendship, family, first love and about finding and accepting yourself (not just your sexuality, but also in general).

This was such a great book. It was so lighthearted, and Simon was definitely what made the whole book for me. He was a perfect protagonists and I loved following him. His coming out process really touched me, and even though I am straight myself I related to being the friend reacting. Such a great book, I highly recommend it! I have a full review here.

26156987


If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo

Amanda has just moved in with her Father to escape the bullying at her last school. The father and her has had a tense relationship ever since Amanda went through her gender transformation and became a girl. She settles at her new school with new friends and maybe even a future boyfriend. She is, for the first time, being seen as a normal girl, no questions asked.

The author herself is transgender and it was so inspirational to read. I really do get why it can be hard to spin your head around the fact that a person can feel like changing their gender, and that is exactly why I find reading stories like these so important. This book taught me so much and it was besides that also a really cute story. Definitely worth a try! I have a full review here.

I would love to be recommended some books including LGBTQ+  from you guys as well, I am always looking for more!

Fiona
instagram // goodreads // twitter // mytrendingstories

One comment

Leave a comment